Processing Client Paperwork
When preparing a paperwork for one of your clients, flexible processes allow you to pre-fill information and choose how you'd like the paperwork to be finalized.
Before you create a new paperwork for a client, ensure that the required Paperwork Template already exists.
Jump to
Where to Find It
How you start processing your client paperwork will depend on whether it already exists, or is yet to be created.
Start a New Paperwork
If you have a template, but haven't already started creating a paperwork based off that template, you can create a new one.
You can start the process of creating a paperwork for your client one of the following ways
- The New Paperwork button in the client journey's Paperwork tab

- The New Paperwork button in the Quick Actions section of the client journey's Overview tab.

The Paperwork window will prompt you to select which document template or form template to use.

Existing Paperwork
You can find a client's existing paperwork in the following areas:

- The client journey's Paperwork tab

Processing your Paperwork
Upon selecting an existing paperwork, or choosing the template you want to use, you will be taken through a series of steps.
Customize Step (conditional)
You may be presented with the opportunity to customize the layout and content for this specific instance of the paperwork.
This step is conditional upon whether (at the time you created this paperwork) the template had the Allow Customizations before Sending option enabled.
In this step, most of the functionality is the same as when Customizing a Paperwork Template, with the exception of the Default Sending Options and Template Settings sections being unavailable.

Any changes made during this step only apply to this specific instance of the paperwork.
Fill Step
In the next page, you can fill document fields or form questions.

For example, you might enter:
- Appointment details
- Provider notes
-
Other information that doesn't need to be completed by the client
Any field you complete will be locked, meaning the client will be able to view the information but won't be able to change it.
Final Step
In this step, you choose whether to hold the paperwork for further changes, finish it immediately, or involve the client.

If involving the client, you have the option to include a message with instructions or additional context for the recipient.
The available completion methods may vary depending on the type of document, who is completing it, and the template settings.
|
Method |
Description |
|---|---|
| Send the document to the client to complete |
This sends the client an email containing a link to view and complete the document. When the client is done, this document will be considered completed, and it publishes to the client portal. |
| Send the document to the client and then return it | This sends the client an email containing a link to view and fill in fields in the document, but when the client is done, it returns to a “Draft” status and you'll be notified. |
| Finish now without posting to the client portal | Only you can enter data here, and when it is completed, the document is finalized without publishing it to the client portal, which is good for internal documents. |
| Finish now and post to the client portal | Only you can enter data here, but when it is completed, the document is finalized and made available in the client portal’s Files (but not Paperwork) page . |
In order to choose either of the two 'Send' options, at least one contact (on the journey the paperwork belongs to) must have an email address.
If you're not ready to send the paperwork right away, but want to save your work, use the Save Draft & Close button to saves the submission without finishing it or sending it to the client, allowing you to return later.

To finalize, press the button that says either Send Now or Finish Document (depending on the method you chose earlier).